Sunday, August 3, 2008


The KL Leg which is the 7th Leg in the SportExcel Junior Circuit this year finished with a bang with Perak and Selangor taking 2 titles each, Negeri Sembilan one and K.Lumpur one.

The two titles won by Selangor was in the Under-12 categories when Natasha Roslan and Wan Nadzmi Fikri tamed the field to win the 4th and final leg of the Under-12 circuit.

Under-12 Champs Natasha Roslan and Wan Nadzmi Fikri from Selangor

For Natasha, this is her 4th consecutive title making her the only GOLD MEDALIST in the Girls Under-12 category throughout the 4 legs (Perak, Pahang, Johor, KL). Natasha also won the MSSM Girls Under-12 All-Events and Masters Gold Medal which was held in Ipoh in May. Her success in the 4 legs of the Junior Circuit makes her the top qualifier for the GP Finals which will be held in Megalanes Kuantan at the end of this month. She is the favorite to win the GP Finals title with her string of successes this year.

The Boys Under-12 title was won by Wan Nadzmi Fikri with a huge margin of 125 pins from the 1st runner up. This is Fikri's 2nd consecutive title as he also won the 3rd leg in Johor last month. Wan Nadzmi Fikri overcame a bleeding thumb to emerged as the best Boys Under-12 bowler in KL.

There was oohs and aahs in the Negeri Sembilan camp when their pint sized Muhd Nur Helmi won the High Game award with an amazing score of 266 beating the hi-game scores of all the other categories.

Autograph signing by Adrian Ang, Aaron Kong, Syafiq Ridhwan and Muhd Nur Aiman, World Youth Team Gold Medalist

The prize giving presentation for the Under-12 was held directly after the masters finished and the ceremony hyped up with the presence of the World Youth Team Champions, Adrian Ang, Aaron Kong, Muhd Nur Aiman and Syafiq Ridhwan. The 4 of them gave away the prizes to the winners and later had an autograph signing session. The kids were excited and thrilled to have their idols present.

Under-12 Medal Winners with National Team

Open Champs
Mohd Amirrul Afif (KUL) dan Syaidatul Afifah (PRK)

Perak got their 2 titles from the outstanding efforts of Syaidatul Afifah in the Girls Open Category and Norsyazana Rusli in the Girls Graded Category. Syaidatul beat Cheryl Cheong, the top seed going into the Knock-Out round, 438-410. Syaidatul, a Form 5 student in SMK Gunung Rapat who won 3 silvers and 2 bronze in SUKMA TERENGGANU recently said "I didn't expect to win as I've not been training after the SUKMA to concentrate on my studies. It was a hard fought battle but alhamdullilah, my strikes kicked in when I needed them most.".

Graded Champs
Mohd Hazwan (NSE) and Norsyazana (PRK)

Norsyazana Rusli was overjoyed with her win as in the previous legs, she always fell short losing either in the semi-finals or in the finals. "AKHIRNYA!" was the exact words expressed by Syazana who has been bowling for 4 years under the guidance of En. Khairul Faizi. In the previous leg held in Seremban, she was in tears, losing in the Finals by only 2 pins in a 1 ball roll-off tiebreaker. The silver medal was won by Nur Azlin from Sekolah Sukan Bandar Penawar.

Mohd Amirrul Afif bowling on his training grounds toppled fellow team mate Yusof Abdul Raof in the final 410-376 to make this his 2nd SportExcel title this year. Amirrul who was a member of the KL trios who won the Bronze medalists in the SUKMA Games is currently leading the GP Ranking Points in the Boys Open Category.

Negeri Sembilan bowlers did extremely well this leg to have 3 of their Boys Graded bowlers qualify for the Top 8 Knock-Out Round. These 3 bowlers subsequently qualified for the Semi Finals as well. Out of this 3 bowlers, Mohd Hazwan who has not finished in the Top 8 in his career was the most successful receiving the title BOYS GRADED CHAMPION. Mohd Hazwan who is coached by Mr. Jonathan Chung and Ahmad Fadhil has been bowling for 4 years and is currently a Form 2 student in SMK Dato' Sheikh Ahmad in Seremban. This is his maiden win after 4 years of training. He will be taking part in the next leg in Melaka from August 15-17 to try to qualify for the Grand Prix Finals.

Mr. Sidney Tung and Richard Shockley with the winners

Honorary Secretary of MTBC, Mr Sidney Tung and Technical Advisor of the Malaysian National Elite Team, Mr. Richard Shockley from USA gave away the prizes to the winners.

Below are the bowlers in the Under-12 Categories who made it into Grand Prix Finals :-

Boys Under-12

  1. Mohd Hafiz Fikri (SEL)
  2. Wan Nadzmi Fikri (SEL)
  3. Ahmad Aidil (KUL)
  4. Mohd Naim Hashim (SEL)
  5. Emir Hazim (KUL)
  6. Muhd Qayyum (NSE)
  7. Mohd Nur Helmi (NSE)
  8. Jason Syow (MEL)
  9. Muhd Hareez (MEL)
  10. Wan Mohd Aiman (PRK)
  1. Ahmad Azraei (SAB)
  2. Ahmad Fawwaz Farhan (SAB)
Girls Under-12
  1. Natasha Roslan (SEL)
  2. Anessa Asyira (NSE)
  3. Ayra Nur Jehan (SEL)
  4. Siti Nurzulaikha (KUL)
  5. Nurain Mustafa (KED)
  6. Nur Nabilah Ammar (PAH)
  7. Nurain Syazana (SEL)
  8. Aida Yasmin (PRK)
  9. Ain Farah Saffura (PAH)
  10. Nur Syareena (NSE)
  1. Steffira Zeandea Greater (SAB)
  2. Nicole Tan (SWK)